Department of Mathematics

Brief Introduction of the Department

The Department of Mathematics was established in 2015 and has always shared the vision of the university in striving for excellence in teaching and research activities. Over the years, the department has evolved as one that provides excellent teaching and research in Mathematics. This department comprising 5 faculty members is actively involved in research besides teaching. The department started its M.Sc. in 2015 and offers the PhD program in 2018.

The frontier areas of research of the department include: Fluid Mechanics, Bio-mechanics, Numerical Analysis and Commutative Algebra and General Topology.

The offered MSc course covers the core areas of mathematics. Apart from the curriculum, a project work on a mathematics field is mandatory for completion of the degree in M.Sc. Every student has to carry out an independent project in the fourth semester under the guidance of a faculty member in the concerned field. Students are trained in computer programming languages like C, C++. They also gain exposure in handling problems through mathematical software like MATLAB, Mathematica etc.

Thrust Area of Research in the Department

  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Integral Equations and Numerical Techniques
  • Mathematical Biology
  • General Topology
  • Commutative Algebra

Academic Programmes

  • Master of science
  • MSc  View more
  • BSc (Hons.) in Mathematics
  • 45
  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • PhD  View more
  • NET/SLET/RET and Viva-voce
  • 18 (Presently 3)

Departmental Events

  • Organize special lectures on 8th March, 2018 to celebrate Women’s Day.
  • “Women’s Empowerment in Science”
  • Celebrate International Language Day (Bengali) on 21st February, 2018.

Co-Curricular and Extracurricular Activities in the Department

Publish Wall Magazine MATH2IT on 12.12.2018

© Diamond Harbour Women´s University. All rights reserved | Powered by ashtik